threadpaperpaint

Things made by me. Paintings, clothes and everything in between.

My Bonnie Sweater

Ein Kommentar

IMG_9812.1

This is not only my first participation in a sew-along but also my first sewing blog post ever. So welcome to my blog! 🙂

I had a lot of fun making the Bonnie Sweater by Bluegingerdoll. I used the pdf pattern and it was very easy to assemble. The instructions were easy to follow and only two pages long so I could print them on just one piece of paper. The environmentalist in me liked that very much. If you are a beginner and need more detailed instructions you can just view them on Bluegingerdolls blog if you need them.

I don’t have a lot of experience sewing with knits so the Bonnie was somewhat a introduction to this area of sewing for me. I had some issues with my sewing machine sewing wonky seams but none with the pattern. I’d say it was a good beginners option for me, especially since there aren’t many seams or very complicated techniques. This makes the Bonnie in my opinion both easy to sew and to fit.

I made some pattern adjustments to account for my longer torso and arms as I am a very tall person. I also adjusted for broad shoulders. In hindsight this wasn’t necessary because there seems to be enough room for broader shoulders as is. I will definitely account for that in future makes of the Bonnie. I also opted for unfinished seams at the sleeves and hem. My grandma would probably shake her head in disgust but I really like that look.

Also I liked the boatneck variation of the neckline the best. While sewing I decided to embellish the neckline with some lace to enhance the romantic feel of the Bonnie. This detail and the lovely gathered sleeve-cuffs make me love my Bonnie very much and I expect to wear it a lot this winter. For next spring I’m already thinking about the short version with three quarter sleeves to wear over dresses.

IMG_9778-1

Ein Kommentar zu “My Bonnie Sweater

  1. Pingback: The reversible Billie Jean Dress | threadpaperpaint

Kommentar verfassen

