threadpaperpaint

Things made by me. Paintings, clothes and everything in between.

Wardrobe Architect Part Two

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

In my second post on the Wardrobe Architect Challenge I’d like to talk about silhouettes. When looking at the general types of body shapes (hourglass, pear, apple, rectangle) I fall in the category „rectangle“. This sounds a bit ridiculous to my ears since my upper body looks nothing like a rectangle, it’s mostly curves in all directions. But lets stick to those types for a sec.

I deducted that I have to be rectangular since none of the other apply. I have broad shoulders and broad hips but no tiny waist like a hourglass figure calls for. And my shoulders are almost as wide as my hips so I’m not pear shaped either. Crossing out „apple“ from the beginning this leaves „rectangle“. Lovely. Additionally I might need to add that I am about 6’2ft tall – just to give you a better picture.

So there are two things I took in consideration when deciding upon my silhouettes: What I like to wear and feel comfortable in and what I think suits my body type and personality. These are  of course interconnected since I feel more confident and happy in garments that enhance my favorite features about myself.

wardrobe-architect-alle-klein
Firstly the length. I love to wear knee-length dresses and skirts and this will remain my go-to. In the summer I also enjoy maxi dresses and skirts and the freedom and level of comfort they bring. Since I’m very tall they suit me quite well, no problem here. I don’t think a mid-length between the two suits me nor do I like midi skirts so I will stay away from that completely.
I found that tunic length blouses and sweaters look better on me then their shorter counterparts and over time I’ve collected quite a few of these. If I wear a pencil skirt I can just throw a longer shirt or sweater on and I will look good without seeming overdressed and if I’m more in the mood for a flowy high-waisted skirt that day I can just tuck the shirt in.

Secondly I’d like to talk about volume. I don’t particularly like to wear a voluminous garment on my upper and lower body at the same time if that makes sense. It doesn’t? Let me explain. If I wear a gathered skirt I don’t also want to wear a voluminous sweater. If I wear a straight skirt I like a big sweater or big flawy, maybe gathered shirt as a contrast. I recently started wearing the small pencil skirt and big sweater combination more than the flipped combination and think it is more flattering on me as well. So it is going to be a staple in my wardrobe in 2015. I will still wear gathered skirts since I love them too much to stay away from them but I plan on using flowy fabric instead of stiff cottons to make them less pouffy since I really don’t need my hip area exaggerated all that much.

Additionally I will rock the straight forward no-to-little-volume garments. These are maybe the most boring when it comes to silhouette but highly important to my wardrobe nonetheless. In this I would count all my knee-lenght jersey dresses or slightly a-line skirts with fitted shirts and all that fun stuff.
For right now I cant’t think of anything else. Please feel free to ask any question you may have and have a lovely time.

x Sarah

Kommentar verfassen

