threadpaperpaint

Things made by me. Paintings, clothes and everything in between.

fun with fabric and DIY gifts

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Slowly but surely spring is approaching Berlin. It is still pretty cold but the blue skies are returning. And I don’t know why this is the case but spring equals birthday-season among my group of friends.

I get somewhat stressed if I am unsure of what to gift each one of my friends and family members and so I usually try to plan ahead of time. Besides the obvious bookish and cakeish gifts I try to find a balance between giving beautiful and useful things, ideally both at once.
This time around I was thinking about hand painted and/or embroidered shopping bags.

IMG_7343-1

On the grey bag I tried my new textile paint in pink and I think it turned out pretty well. This serves a double purpose as I’m planning on using paint on fabric as a way to embellish plain fabrics. I might even use that technique to get a kind of border print. To use for example as the hemline on a skirt. I might even look in to making my own printing blocks and full on printing my own fabric patterns some time later this year.
IMG_7359-1
On the turquoise bag I did some fairly simple embroidery that I just made up as I went along. I would love to do a bigger scaled project one day and just cover a bag like that in flowers over flowers. But it is like they say: Ain’t nobody got time for that.

I am still looking for great ideas for gifts to my male friends and relatives as I’m pretty sure that most of them are not too keen on flowers or pretty bags in general. But if I can find something suitable to embroider – let me tell you – I will embroider it!

x Sarah

Kommentar verfassen

