threadpaperpaint

Things made by me. Paintings, clothes and everything in between.

Ottobre Review and a lovely local shop

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

I am currently visiting Friends in Frankfurt and yesterday they informed me about a local shop that sells all kinds of notions called „Wächtershäuser„. I wasn’t expecting a whole lot but I was happily surprised. They not only carry millions of buttons and several different brands of thread in all the colors you could ever want but even have a good selection in corset and lingerie making supplies. They even sell Vogue patterns! Good thing I don’t live here or my bankroll would suffer.

After stopping myself from buying all the things I settled upon a few spools of thread that were on sale. Basically three different shades of turquoise and teal. Did I mention I sewed up a quick teal dress for this trip the other day? It’s almost the same color as my lovely Bonnie. Let’s just say, I like my blueish-greenish color palette.
In the shop I also stumbled upon the latest issue of Ottobre pattern magazine. I flicked through the pages and loved it. I already own one of their past issues and although I liked it for its simple and basic patterns I didn’t particularly love all of their silhouettes and designs. I’m just not a pants and hoody kind of person and there seemed to be a lot of that going on. So I was surprised to see that their brand new issue had some really lovely skirts, dresses and even two perfectly wearable pants patterns. The designs are aimed towards beginners I would say and all of them could make lovely every day wardrobe staples.
IMG_20150227_131639296-1
Also, this back cover its just so pretty! Pay attention Burda, the people of Ottobre know a thing or two about styling. Maybe it’s just the turquoise-fan in me but I’d love the fabric in the background as a wallpaper.

Ottobre also has a pretty good size range. They don’t divide their range in petite and plus-size but rather have all their patterns go from 34 to 52. They also provide the reader with specific measurements that go with their sizes. I find that to be very helpful. I can take one look at the chart and see how much I probably need to increase the back width or bodice-length.

Look at these tops. Really simple but lovely styled and I’m almost certain that I’ll whip up one or two of those for the summer.
IMG_20150227_131844037-1
I also really like the pants on the left. I’m not sure at all that they would be flattering on me but maybe I’ll try anyways. (But full-length, I don’t like crop-anything). Again, style-points.
IMG_20150227_131735283-1
Witch pattern-magazines do you prefer? Are there any great ones out there I might not yet have discovered?

x Sarah

Kommentar verfassen

